Loquis: Anglican Church of San Giorgio

Download Loquis!

Anglican Church of San Giorgio

  loquis

Published on:  2019-07-24 08:54:00

  Taormina

The church, in Greek-Roman style, was built by the small English colony that had settled in Taormina. The church is located in Pirandello Street, below the street level. On the main facade opens the portal in Syracuse stone adorned with black volcanic stone. On the north-facing facade there are three windows in Syracuse stone. The west facade is decorated with a large rose window and a cross made of Syracuse stone. The interior of the church has two naves divided into three round arches also in stone of Syracuse. The altar of the church is very simple and its beauty is highlighted by a glass mosaic depicting Jesus Christ on the cross, with St. Catherine on the right and St. George on the left. It is thought that this mosaic, unique in Taormina, was made by Sir Edward and Lady Hill in a chapel in the church of the former convent of the Friars Minor Observant, later called Villa St. Catherine. Inside there are plaques and commemorative plaques to the soldiers who fell in the war of 1914, 1918, to the soldiers of the thirtieth Corps who fell in Tunisia in 1942, to the officers and soldiers of the fiftieth Division who fell in the countryside of Sicily in July, August 1943.

Download Loquis!

Available for iOS & Android


Live the world

#HeadsUp